2011 and 2012 Venues

Royal St George’s and Royal Lytham & St Annes are to be the British Open venues for 2011 and 2012.

The 140th Open Championship at Royal St George’s in Sandwich, Kent

The British Open will return to Royal St George’s for the 14th time in 2011.
The first venue outside Scotland to stage The Open Championship, Royal St George’s nestles in an expanse of natural linksland on the Kent coast near to the ancient town of Sandwich, and is the southern-most venue on the British Open rota.
Founded in 1887 by Laidlaw Purves, an eminent Scottish consultant ophthalmologist at Guy’s Hospital in London, it first hosted the British Open in 1894.
South African Bobby Locke started his run of four titles with a play-off win here in 1949 and American Bill Rogers was the winner when The Open Championship returned to Royal St George’s after a gap of 32 years.
Royal St George’s last hosted The Open Championship in 2003 when first-timer, American Ben Curtis, claimed victory.

The 141st Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes, in Lytham St Annes, Lancashire

In 2012, the British Open will be played for the 11th time at Royal Lytham & St Annes since its first taste of Open Championship golf in 1926.
Tony Jacklin signalled the revival of British golf on this course in 1969, with the first home victory since Max Faulkner 18 years earlier at Royal Portrush.
Tom Lehman became the first American professional winner at this venue, while Seve Ballesteros won at Lytham twice, in 1979 and 1988.
The last British Open at Royal Lytham & St Annes took place in 2001 when David Duval of the United States shot a closing round of 67 for a three-shot win over Sweden’s Niclas Fasth.
We hope you now know all you need to know about the British Open venues for 2011 and 2012, but if not, follow the links above to visit the sites for these two prestigious golf clubs.